Home | Blog | Nine Areas to Grow in ~ The Enneagram

Nine Areas to Grow in ~ The Enneagram

August 1, 2018

Towards the end of the book, The Enneagram, by Maria Beesing, Robert Nogosek and Patrick O’Leary the authors discuss nine areas we need to grow in – nine holy ideas we need to grasp hold of. Which one do you most need to develop?

Holy Idea of Growth – accept imperfection as part of the growth process.

Holy Idea of Grace – realize we do not earn God’s love, accept ourselves as worthwhile persons whether or not we are helpful.

Holy Idea of God’s Will – dedicate ourselves to God’s way of running the world. God is in control.

Holy Idea of Union with God – special because we are God’s creation not because we’ve had unusually dramatic or tragic lives.

Holy Idea of Divine Providence – God acts in our lives to take care of all our needs. We don’t supply our own resources.

Holy Idea of Trust in God – find security in divine adoption.

Holy Idea of Co-Creation – take on the hard work of co-creation, working with God and accepting disappointment and suffering as part of the process.

Holy Idea of Compassion – place judgement in God’s hands which releases us from our own idea of justice.

Holy Idea of Unconditional love – discover God’s love which awakens new energies within as we come to see our real worth as persons.

by Susan Barnes
no comment

Susan Barnes

~ writer of insightful posts about God and faith